Yes. Blocking allows you to prevent many interactions with someone on Facebook, but you may still encounter content they’ve shared.
Here’s what you might see:
- Messages: Your message history with someone you’ve blocked will stay in your inbox. If the blocked person is ever included in a conversation with a group of friends, you may be able to see the messages. Remember, you can leave a conversation that you don’t want to be part of, or delete a conversation that you don’t like.
- Mutual friend stories: There’s a chance that you’ll see stories about the blocked person through mutual friends. For example, if the blocked person tags a mutual friend in a photo, you might see this story on your friend’s timeline.
- Photos: You might see photos or tags of the blocked person added by other people.
- Groups: Someone you’ve blocked won’t be able to add you to a group, but you’ll be able to see groups that the blocked person created or is a member of.
- Events: Someone you’ve blocked won’t be able to invite you to an event, but you’ll be able to see events to which both you and the blocked person are invited.
- Games and apps: Since games and apps are run by outside developers, the Facebook block won’t apply to them. So you could see someone you blocked while you’re playing a game (ex: in the game’s chat room).